Chronological order of Mughal emperor

Here is a chronological list of the significant Mughal emperors along with their reigns:

1. **Babur (1526-1530)** – Founder of the Mughal Empire.

2. **Humayun (1530-1556)** – Babur’s son who initially lost the empire but later regained it.

3. **Akbar the Great (1556-1605)** – Known for his administrative reforms and religious tolerance.

4. **Jahangir (1605-1627)** – Known for his interest in art and culture.

5. **Shah Jahan (1628-1658)** – Famous for constructing the Taj Mahal and other architectural wonders.

6. **Aurangzeb (1658-1707)** – Known for his conservative policies and territorial expansion.

7. **Bahadur Shah I (1707-1712)** – Ascended the throne after a war of succession.

8. **Jahandar Shah (1712)** – Brief reign after overthrowing Bahadur Shah I.

9. **Farrukhsiyar (1713-1719)** – Ruled during a turbulent period marked by internal conflicts.

10. **Rafi Ul-Darjat (1719)** – Very short reign due to illness.

11. **Shah Jahan II (1719)** – Another short-lived reign.

12. **Muhammad Shah (1719-1748)** – Oversaw a period of decline and instability.

13. **Ahmad Shah Bahadur (1748-1754)** – Struggled against regional powers and Maratha Confederacy.

14. **Alamgir II (1760-1788)** – Attempted to reassert Mughal authority but with limited success.

15. **Shah Alam II (1760-1788, and later 1788-1806)** – Witnessed the decline of the Mughal Empire and later became a pawn in regional politics under the British.

After Shah Alam II, the Mughal Empire effectively ceased to exist as a significant political entity, and the British East India Company took control of much of India. These emperors are the most notable figures in the Mughal dynasty, and their reigns spanned the zenith and decline of the empire.

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!